The Way I Play
CD 2107
£  10.00 inc VAT
Add to Shopping Basket

‘The Way I Play’  SLAMCD 2107    
Barcode: 5028386708223


Recorded at Octopia Studios, Weymouth, UK.  July 2012.



Esmond Selwyn received his initial training directly at the hands of America's very finest, most revered and iconic pioneers of the modern jazz guitar, Chuck Wayne, Tal Farlow and George van Eps. Since those days he has carried out some thirty years of his own intense research and development drawing much single line fluency and phraseology from the styles of Charlie Parker, John Coltrane and Joe Henderson as well as absorbing some of the harmonic concepts of Bill Evans, McCoy Tyner and Herbie Hancock.

Fifteen years with saxist Don Rendell was a great opportunity to perfect his group jazz and accompaniment techniques, at the same time developing his individual solo style. As Steve Herberman said "His playing features an imaginative harmonic palette, lightning fast runs interjected between dense chordal textures and sensitive accompanying when playing with a group. The history of jazz guitar is present in his playing yet he looks towards modern jazz pianists to push the envelope."

Maurice Summerfield, author of "Barney Kessel, A Jazz Legend"  added "Without doubt one of the best jazz guitar solo recordings I have heard in the last 60+ years. Great guitar sound combined with a wonderful mastery of the fingerboard...."


Also available through all digital outlets, including:


Details Reviews

Title        ‘The Way I Play’

Catalogue number  SLAMCD 2107

Esmond Selwyn, solo guitar.



1                     Misty (Garner)                                              3:38

2                     Blue Bossa (Dorham)                                 3:52

3                     Stardust (Carmichael                                  2:52

4                     Once in a While (Edwards)                        5:11

5                     Prelude to a Kiss (Ellington)                       3:02

6                     My Favourite Things (Hammerstein)      6:04

7                     Polka Dots and Moonbeams (Burke)      2:39

8                     Serenata (Parish)                                         3:46

9                     Close Your Eyes (Petkere)                         1:09

10                 Just Friends (Lewis)                                     3:21

11                 Cry me a River (Hamilton)                        1:58

12                 Ain’t Misbehaving (Waller)                       3:33

13                 Body and Soul (Green)                               4:22

14                 I only have Eyes for You (Bubin)            3:30

15                 What’s New (Burke)                                   2:58

16                 In a Sentimental Mood (Ellington)          3:08


Recorded at Octopia Studios, Weymouth.  July 2012 by Mike Hallet.

Mastered by Alan Broadbent.  Produced by Rob Koral.

Terms and Conditions of website use Privacy Policy Artists