Glowering Figs
£  10.00 inc VAT
Add to Shopping Basket

"Glowering Figs"   SLAMCD 2104   Barcode: 5028386704737



Glowering FigsDave Fowler (drums), Ivor Kallin (upright electric bass/vocal), Jerry Wigens (guitar)


The trio was formed in 2015 following the break-up of Horseless Headmen (soon after Kallin had acquired an electric upright bass) and Wigens’ departure from Astrakan. Fowler and Kallin already provided the powerhouse rhythm section of Ya Basta and had developed a close understanding over nearly three decades, while Kallin and Wigens knew each other from the London Improvisers Orchestra and a shared interest in the fortunes of Leyton Orient FC. It was here that the idea of the trio emerged during one half-time interval. A purely instrumental unit at the outset, the Figs would soon integrate Kallin’s unique vocal talents as part of their live set. The name ‘Glowering Figs’ derives from a loose amalgam of the letters in ‘Fowler’ and ‘Wigens’, an angrier option than the initial ‘hippier’ alternative, ‘Flowering Wigs’. The music in this recording is a selection of material from more than two hours of improvised live playing that took place on a one-day session in Autumn 2016.

Also available through all digital outlets, including:

Amazon MP3:



Details Reviews

Glowering Figs

Dave Fowler (drums), Ivor Kallin (upright electric bass/vocal), Jerry Wigens (guitar)   Track details:

1. Glumly Predicting Snow  (6:10) 2. And?      (1:18) 3. Gaggling and Giggling  (6:44) 4. Fig of Four Faces   (13:15) 5. Trauchling to Dunoon  (7:08) 6. That Bloody Lamp-post  (2:59) 7. 07:17 delayed    (5:09) 8. Wrongie Bongie (He's a)  (3:51) 9. Waking Up is Hard to Do  (5:29) 10. Trousers of Discord   (6:38) 11. A plethora of flowering wigs,  unusual for this time of year (3:59)

Composers: All tracks by David Fowler, Ivor Kallin, Jerry Wigens   Recorded on 5 November 2016 at One Cat Studios, Brixton, London

Recording, mixing and mastering: Jon Clayton

Terms and Conditions of website use Privacy Policy Artists