£  10.00 inc VAT
Add to Shopping Basket

"Ancón"   Edward Ricart Quartet

"An excellent debut album from a colossal quartet!"  - Bruce Lee Gallanter, Downtown Music Gallery

Herb Robertson - Trumpet, Little Instruments; Jason Ajemian – Bass: Andrew Barker – Drums; Edward Ricart – Guitar.

The eight freely improvised pieces on this record demonstrate a dynamic group with a powerful, confident sound. The fiery free onslaught of tracks like 'Dermatoglyphics' and 'Eurypterids,' the sparse, AACM-influenced textures of 'Truth.' and the deep shifting-yet-unshakeable pulse of 'Wake Up' or 'Celestial Mechanics' could easily be mistaken for composition- but this group'sin/out approach to free improv makes for a very rewarding listen. Ancon stands as a fine first offering from a hard-working young guitarist, and is not to be missed.

Ricart presently resides in Yellow Springs, Ohio, where he has been focusing on a new music trio called Hyrrokkin, while remaining an active collaborator of free music pioneers, as a member of the William Hooker Trio, Jason Ajemian's Trash Island, and many more.An active supporter of the creative music underground, his weekly series ofexperimental musicconcerts has featuredHan Bennink, Elliott Sharp,Paal Nilssen-Love, Rodrigo Amado, Frode Gjerstad,Andrea Parkins, Aram Shelton,Eugene Chadbourne, Uri Caine, Sabir Mateen, and many more

A seasoned traveller, during 2011 he toured North America with Matta Gawa in the Spring and Hyrrokkin in the fall, played a weekly residency at RodaninChicago with members of Tortoise during the month of April, and toured with the William Hooker Trio in the Winter.

Also available digitally:



Details Reviews

Track titles, lengths and composers.

1 Celestial Mechanics (10:54)

2 Eurypterids(10:12)

3 Truth (3:43)

4 Abilene (6:54)

5 Dermatoglyphics (5:24)

6 Boundary Crashers (4:58)

7 The Sun's In Your Face (6:00)

8 Wake Up (9:19)

All music composed spontaneously by the quartet.


Recorded December 10, 2009with Jason LaFarge  @ Seizure's Palace in Brooklyn

Terms and Conditions of website use Privacy Policy Artists